Skip to main content

Promoting the take-up of languages and student mobility

Update on Routes South West activities post July 2016

Home >> News >> Update on Routes South West activities post July 2016
Region: 
South West

Dear Friends,

As you will be aware, the central funding for Routes into Languages ceases from 31 August 2016, and in consequence we shall be able to offer only a more reduced regional Routes presence and support in promoting MFL in schools as sadly, the greatest loss to the region is that of our Project Manager Irena Holdsworth. But we are still here! Central Routes coordination now passes to the International Unit of Universities UK, and Bristol and Bath continue to Co-Direct for the South West. The website will continue to offer the opportunity to keep in touch with activities both regionally and nationally, and routes-south-west@bath.ac.uk continues to be a means of contacting us centrally.

The Universities in the South West Consortium will be working to provide you with some support, and their contact details are as follows:

Bath: Astrid Forsyth (A.Forsyth@bath.ac.uk)

Bath Spa: Philip Campagna (P.Campagna@bathspa.ac.uk)

Bristol: Ed King (Edward.King@bristol.ac.uk) taking over from Debbie Pinfold

Exeter: Damien Gaucher (D.Gaucher@exeter.ac.uk)

Plymouth: Danielle Bishop (Danielle.Bishop@plymouth.ac.uk)

In addition, Pilton Community College and Bath Royal High School would wish to continue a form of the Speaking Competition, and we shall keep you posted with developments there.

After our signature we have attached an amended version of the statement we made at the Celebrating Success event in Bristol at the end of June. We wanted to be as honest yet upbeat as possible in making that statement, just as we are seeking in this letter to reassure you that, despite the current loss of national funding, we remain determined to support you in promoting MFL as best we are able given the new financial situation. Routes lives!

Please keep us informed of your activities, and let us know how we might be able to support you going forward.

Best wishes,

Robert Vilain (Robert.Vilain@bristol.ac.uk) and Steve Wharton (S.Wharton@bath.ac.uk)